Awards ğ Pioneers In Miniaturization

Lab on a Chip and Dolomite - Pioneers in Miniaturization Lectureship

MicroTAS 2021 Virtual Conference - Winner
Keisuke Goda
University of Tokyo, JAPAN

Lab on a Chip and Dolomite are proud to sponsor the fifteenth Pioneers of Miniaturization Lectureship, to honor and support the up and coming, next generation of scientists who have significantly contributed to the understanding or development of miniaturised systems.

The Lectureship consists of the following elements:
  • A prize of US$2,000. No other financial contribution will be offered
  • A certificate recognising the winner of the lectureship
  • The awardee is required to give a short lecture at the µTAS 2021 Conference
Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for the lectureship, candidates must:
  • Have completed their PhD
  • Be actively pursuing an independent research career on miniaturised systems.
  • Be at an early-mid career stage of their independent career (typically this will be within 15 years of completing their PhD, but appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken a career break or followed a different study path).
Nomination Process
To be considered for the 2021 lectureship, the following must be sent to the Editorial Office
  • A letter of recommendation with the candidate's accomplishments and why the lectureship is deserved.
  • A complete nomination form.
  • Nominations from students and self-nominations are not permissible.
  • Nomination deadline, 31st May 2021
Selection Criteria and Judgin Process
  • Nominations must be made via email to using the Dolomite/Lab on a Chip Pioneers of Miniaturization Lectureship nomination form and a letter of recommendation.
  • The decision on the winner of the lectureship will be made by a panel of judges comprising a representative from Dolomite and members from the Lab on a Chip Editorial Board, coordinated by the Executive Editor of Lab on a Chip.
  • The award is for outstanding contributions to the understanding or development of miniaturised systems. This will be judged mainly through their top 1-3 papers and/or an invention documented by patents/or a commercial product. Awards and honorary memberships may also be considered.
Please visit the official website for additional information.

Past Winners

MicroTAS 2020 Conference, Online
Wilbur A. Lam, Emory University, USA and Georgia Technical University, USA

MicroTAS 2019 Conference, Basel, SWITZERLAND
Professor Hang Lu, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

MicroTAS 2018 Conference, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Sunghoon Kwon, Seoul National University, Korea

MicroTAS 2017 Conference, Savannah, Georgia, USA
Aaron Wheeler, University of Toronto, CANADA

MicroTAS 2016 Conference, Dublin, Ireland
Professor Daniel Irimia, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

MicroTAS 2015 Conference, Gyeongju, Korea
Dino Di Carlo, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

MicroTAS 2014 Conference, San Antonio, Texas, USA
Professor Sangeeta N. Bhatia, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

MicroTAS 2013 Conference, Freiburg, Germany
Shuichi Takayama, University of Michigan, USA

MicroTAS 2012 Conference, Okinawa Japan
Andrew deMello, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

MicroTAS 2011 Conference, Seattle, Washington, USA
Ali Khademhosseini, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

MicroTAS 2010 Conference, Groningen, The Netherlands
Stephen Quake, Stanford University, USA

MicroTAS 2009 Conference, ICC Jeju, Jeju, Korea
Professor Abe Lee, University of California, Irvine, USA

MicroTAS 2008 Conference, San Diego, California, USA
Dr. Patrick Doyle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

MicroTAS 2007 Conference, Paris. France
Dr. Manabu Tokeshi, Nagoya University, Japan

MicroTAS 2006 Conference, Tokyo, Japan
Dr. David Beebe, University of Wisconsin, USA